World Cup 2022 teams: Which countries have qualified for Qatar

All eyes are now on Qatar as the 2022 World Cup takes centre stage.

The Qatar World Cup kicked off on Sunday and now England will be among those gunning for glory this winter.

The World Cup is coming up this winter


The World Cup is coming up this winter

Including the Three Lions and the host nation, 32 teams have confirmed their qualification for the competition.

Wales managed to hold off the challenge of Ukraine to make it to their first World Cup since 1958 and they were joined late on by the likes of Australia and Costa Rica.

World Cup 2022: Qualified teams

The UEFA qualification group stages were wrapped up last November with England, Germany, Spain and France among the group winners.

Meanwhile, Brazil and Argentina qualified from CONMEBOL first before being joined by Ecuador and Uruguay.

Iran and South Korea were the first to make it from AFC and were then joined by Saudi Arabia and Japan.

Canada have made it from CONCACAF and qualified for their first World Cup since 1986.

The 32 teams must now submit their final 26-man squads to FIFA on Monday, November 14 by 7pm Qatar time (4pm in the UK). Several teams have already confirmed their selections and you can read the latest here.

World Cup 2022 groups

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands

Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

Gareth Southgate’s England will be at the Qatar World Cup


Gareth Southgate’s England will be at the Qatar World Cup

World Cup 2022: Who has missed out?

Several high-ranking countries have failed to make the upcoming World Cup.

Euro 2020 winners Italy crashed out and won’t be at the World Cup for the second time running after they lost to North Macedonia.

In the CONMEBOL, big guns Chile and Colombia have missed out.

Peru finished fifth in the qualification table but lost their play-off on penalties to Australia.

Meanwhile, Costa Rica beat Oceanian play-off winners New Zealand 1-0 to make it to Qatar.

In Africa, the play-offs brought huge drama.

Senegal eliminated Egypt while Cameroon beat Algeria and Ghana edged out Nigeria.

Morocco and Tunisia also went through at the expense of DR Congo and Mali.

Watch the World Cup with talkSPORT

At talkSPORT we are powered by fans, so come and join us for the ultimate World Cup fan experience this winter – at the talkSPORT Fan Zone.

In a huge indoor venue under the arches at Waterloo in London, we’ll bring you live screenings of every World Cup game.

There will be Q&As with talkSPORT talent, you’ll be part of our live broadcasts, and there will be plenty of food and drink on offer too.

Come and enjoy the best World Cup fan experience in London – and enjoy a pint on us – with tickets all games on sale HERE!

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.

Powered By
Best Wordpress Adblock Detecting Plugin | CHP Adblock